Posted by: neilh10 | November 11, 2013

Hello

It’s been nearly a year since my last post. Due to various changes in my life I don’t really write as much about Iceland any more, although it is still very much part of my life. After spending last Christmas there and getting caught up in one of the worst storms in living memory, and indeed being stranded in the town for nearly a week, I’ve decided that I will no longer promote the apartment for winter bookings. Not that i’d discourage people from visiting Iceland in wintertime, I just think that if you go in wintertime and particularly in a remote and off the beaten track place like the Westfjords, you are better off in the hands of the regular tourist industry.

This year I registered on airbnb and had a lot of business from that website. I also registered on Bungalo.is, which is an Icelandic website which undertakes real time bookings and I have had a lot of business from there as well. Given that both of these websites basically operate on a ‘per night’ pricing model, it makes sense for me to update my own pricing structure to reflect this. From now on the price will be 95 pounds per night, with cleaning included. There is also a two night minimum stay requirement.

I don’t want to dwell any more on the growth of tourism in Iceland. At the end of the day, it is what the Icelanders make it. I’d still definetely encourage people to visit Iceland but like anywhere else think carefully about what impact they are having on the place while they are there. Flateyri, when I last looked, is still pretty much the same as it ever was. The bus service has really improved for the better, but the bank and post office closed. No luxury hotels or puffin shops, yet.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

