Posted by: neilh10 | January 30, 2012

Finding your dream home in Iceland: Check out Raufarhofn

One question people often ask me is whether or not my project in Iceland is repeatable. People have contacted me from all over the world asking about how they might go about buying their own house in Iceland. I have had requests from journalists, wanting to write features on me and my apartment in Iceland.

I’ve always felt a bit uncomfortable answering these questions. The truth is that my outlook on property ownership is different to other peoples, particularly when it comes to Iceland.

But if you are looking for a bargain bolt-hole in Iceland, I would urge you to look no further than Raufarhofn, where the Reykjavik Grapevine, via RUV are reporting that the government sold one house recently for as little as nothing:

Bergur Elías Ágústsson, the county councilperson of North Iceland, told reporters that even in selling the house for nothing, the municipality gains by having it renovated and restored, adding to a sprucing up of the village in general.

Other houses are also available in Raufarhöfn. A group of artists recently bought an old herring facility with the same intention of renovating it, and giving it a new life with a different purpose.

When asked if the county intends to sell every house on the block for as good a price as the Old Cooperative, Bergur declined to say definitively. He said that every deal will be looked at on a case-by-case basis.

Given the media attention recieved, it looks like this deal won’t last for long. So if you are looking to pick up a PROPERTY BARGAIN IN ICELAND, get to Raufarhofn as quickly as you can, and tell Bergur of your good intentions.

The church by the harbour

Raufarhofn, where you might possibly find your dream home (from Flickr)

Responses

  1. Interesting! I think I’ll be in trouble if I go and visit and come back with a second house.

  2. well, I guess its free though you won’t have much to worry about!

    (apart from the property tax, heating, insurance, and the fact that getting there involves two flights and a six hour bus ride)

  3. Minor details! I wonder if you could be tempted to expand your property portfolio…

  4. It is very tempting, yes.

    Raufarhofn here I come!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

