Posted by: neilh10 | February 13, 2011

This blog.

I’ve now been posting here for three months, and have had over 1,500 hits on the website, so I thought it would be a good idea to set out what this blog is, and what I am trying to achieve with it.

I started off writing this blog as a cheap way of building a website about my apartment in the Westfjords in Iceland, which I rent out as a holiday home. That is still one of my main motivations for writing, but I would also like to expand in to other areas as well.

I want to use the blog to provide general travel advice on Iceland, and the Westfjords in particular. The questions I have in mind are matters such as what is the weather like, what kind of car should I hire, what are the flights times… stuff like that. These are practical questions that weigh very heavily on people’s minds when they are planning a holiday, but in Iceland it can sometimes seem strangely difficult to get answers to. I guess for people familiar with the area these kinds of posts can get a bit irritating, but I think it is important that they are covered somewhere.

I also want to use the blog to write some more about the Westfjords, and what is happening out there. Aside from the occasional mention in the Reykjavik Grapevine, Icenews, or the Iceland Review, there is very little english language coverage of what is happening in the Westfjords. Perhaps this is understandable, given its small size and location, but I believe that the Westfjords are a truly amazing part of the world which has a very interesting story behind it, and one that needs to be told.

Responses

  1. Just wanted to say thanks for the flat in Flateyri – had a really good stay and enjoyed visiting the westfjords. Giles

  2. Thanks Giles! I’m glad you had a good trip and the weather looks like it was good, from the pictures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

